ماذا يحدث لمهارات القراءة للطفل إذا فاته يومان فقط من المدرسة كل شهر؟

يفتقد حوالي 1 من كل 5 أطفال عبر وادي ليهاي أكثر من 18 يومًا من المدرسة كل عام. هذا ما يقرب من يومين في الشهر ، و 10 في المئة من السنة الدراسية ، وحوالي شهر من فرصة التعلم الضائعة. يُعتبر الطلاب الذين فاتتهم هذه الأيام غائبة بشكل مزمن ، ويتخلفون عن العمل في الدورات الدراسية ، ويواجهون صعوبة في البقاء على اتصال مع زملائهم في الفصل. يشجع التحدي 5 الطلاب على الالتحاق بالمدرسة كل يوم ، والسعي لأقل من خمسة أيام غائبة كل عام.

    يفتقد حوالي 1 من كل 5 أطفال عبر وادي ليهاي أكثر من 18 يومًا من المدرسة كل عام. هذا ما يقرب من يومين في الشهر ، و 10 في المئة من السنة الدراسية ، وحوالي شهر من فرصة التعلم الضائعة. يُعتبر الطلاب الذين فاتتهم هذه الأيام غائبة بشكل مزمن ، ويتخلفون عن العمل في الدورات الدراسية ، ويواجهون صعوبة في البقاء على اتصال مع زملائهم في الفصل. يشجع التحدي 5 الطلاب على الالتحاق بالمدرسة كل يوم ، والسعي لأقل من خمسة أيام غائبة كل عام.


    لقد تبين أن كل يوم حضور في رياض الأطفال ورياض الأطفال يحدد النمط لكيفية استمرار الأطفال في تقدير حضورهم للمدرسة كل عام. تعد مهارات القراءة المهمة التي يتم تدريسها في رياض الأطفال والصف الأول مهمة للغاية لمساعدة الأطفال على القراءة جيدًا بحلول نهاية الصف الثالث.


    كيف نعالج التغيب المزمن والحضور اليومي؟


    من خلال عمل تحالف الحضور 5 للتحدي ، يقرأ وادي ليهاي:

    • يساعد المدارس على تحسين تتبعهم للالتحاق بالمدارس والتغيب المزمن.
    • يدعم البرامج التي تجعل من المرح للأطفال الذهاب إلى المدرسة كل يوم
    • شكرا الآباء وأفراد الأسرة الذين جعل كل يوم الحضور أولوية
    • يبني ثقافات مدرسية أكثر إيجابية ويقدم الدعم للعائلات التي لديها عوائق أمام إرسال أطفالها إلى المدرسة كل يوم

What happens to a child’s reading skills if they miss just 2 days of school each month?

About 1 in 5 children across the Lehigh Valley miss more than 18 days of school each year. That’s roughly 2 days per month, 10 percent of the school year, and about a month of lost learning opportunity. Students who miss this many days are considered chronically absent, fall behind in their course work, and have a difficult time keeping connected with their classmates.  Challenge 5 encourages students to attend school every day, and to strive for less than five days absent each year.

About 1 in 5 children across the Lehigh Valley miss more than 18 days of school each year. That’s roughly 2 days per month, 10 percent of the school year, and about a month of lost learning opportunity. Students who miss this many days are considered chronically absent, fall behind in their course work, and have a difficult time keeping connected with their classmates.  Challenge 5 encourages students to attend school every day, and to strive for less than five days absent each year.


Every day attendance in pre-kindergarten and kindergarten has been shown to set the pattern for how kids will continue to value attending school each year. Important reading skills taught in kindergarten and first grade are critical to helping kids read well by the end of third grade. 


How do we address chronic absenteeism and everyday attendance? 


Through the work of our Challenge 5 Attendance Coalition, Lehigh Valley Reads: 

  • Helps schools improve their tracking of school attendance and chronic absenteeism. 
  • Supports programs that make it fun for kids to come to school every day
  • Thanks parents and family members who make every day attendance a priority
  • Builds more positive school cultures and offers supports to families who have barriers to sending their children to school every day