عملنا

كيف يمكننا أن نقرأ جميع طلابنا على مستوى الصف في نهاية الصف الثالث؟

يركز Lehigh Valley Reads على خمسة مجالات رئيسية تؤثر على تقدم الطفل. تقوم تحالفات أفراد المجتمع ومقدمي الخدمات والمربين وأفراد الأسرة والمتطوعين والموظفين من United Way of the Leighigh Valley و PBS39 بالعمل في المجتمع لمساعدتنا على تحقيق هدفنا العام المتمثل في إجادة القراءة.

أعرف أكثر!

تحالف الطفولة المبكرة

كيف يرتبط تعلم الطفولة المبكرة بقراءة الصف الثالث؟

يولد حوالي 7000 طفل في وادي ليهاي كل عام ، ويعيش نصفهم تقريبًا في أسر منخفضة الدخل. يعاني أضعف أطفالنا من التعرض المحدود لرعاية الأطفال عالية الجودة ، ومن المرجح أن يبدأوا في مرحلة الحضانة من 12 إلى 14 شهرًا خلف أقرانهم. سبعة من كل عشرة أطفال في وادي ليهاي ليسوا مستعدين لرياض الأطفال ، اجتماعيا أو عاطفيا أو إدراكيا. يحتاج الأطفال الذين يدخلون رياض الأطفال غير المستعدين إلى دعم إضافي لتحسين لغتهم وتنمية مهارات القراءة والكتابة لجعلهم على المسار الصحيح للقراءة بشكل جيد بحلول نهاية الصف الثالث.


أعرف أكثر

شريحة الصيف

ماذا يحدث لمهارات القراءة للطفل خلال أشهر الصيف؟

عندما تسمح المدرسة بالصيف ، تظهر تحديات جديدة للعديد من الأطفال الذين يعيشون في فقر. بالإضافة إلى القيود المفروضة على وجبة الإفطار والغداء المجانية أو المخفضة ، لا يتمكن العديد من الأطفال من الوصول إلى فرص التعلم التي تساعدهم على الاستمرار في بناء مهارات القراءة لديهم. يمكن للأطفال الذين لا يشاركون في برامج التعلم أو فرص الإثراء مثل الرحلات الميدانية والمخيمات وما إلى ذلك خلال الصيف أن يفقدوا ما بين شهرين إلى ثلاثة أشهر من مهارات القراءة. وهذا ما يسمى "الشريحة الصيفية".


أعرف أكثر

التحدي 5 الحضور

ماذا يحدث لمهارات القراءة للطفل إذا فاته يومان فقط من المدرسة كل شهر؟

يفتقد حوالي 1 من كل 5 أطفال عبر وادي ليهاي أكثر من 18 يومًا من المدرسة كل عام. هذا ما يقرب من يومين في الشهر ، و 10 في المئة من السنة الدراسية ، وحوالي شهر من فرصة التعلم الضائعة. يُعتبر الطلاب الذين فاتتهم هذه الأيام غائبة بشكل مزمن ، ويتخلفون عن العمل في الدورات الدراسية ، ويواجهون صعوبة في البقاء على اتصال مع زملائهم في الفصل. يشجع التحدي 5 الطلاب على الالتحاق بالمدرسة كل يوم ، والسعي لأقل من خمسة أيام غائبة كل عام.


    أعرف أكثر

    مدارس الصدمة المستنيرة

    كيف تؤثر الصدمة في المنزل على طفل في الفصل؟

    واحد من كل 4 أطفال سيشهد أو يواجه حدثًا صادمًا قبل سن 4 سنوات. يمكن أن يعاني الأطفال الذين يعانون من الصدمات من تأخيرات كبيرة في لغتهم ونموهم العقلي ، مما قد يجعل من الصعب الانتباه في الفصل ومعالجة المعلومات الجديدة.


    أعرف أكثر

    مدارس المجتمع

    كيف يمكن للمدارس أن تكون بمثابة مراكز موارد مجتمعية؟

    بسبب العديد من المتغيرات ، هناك مدارس في جميع أنحاء وادي ليهاي تفتقر إلى الموارد المتاحة لخدمة أطفالهم وعائلاتهم بشكل كاف.


    أعرف أكثر

Our Work

 How do we get all of our students reading on grade level by the end of third grade?

Lehigh Valley Reads focuses on five key areas that impact a child’s progress.  Coalitions of community members, service providers, educators, family members, volunteers, and staff from United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley and PBS39 do the work in the community to help us achieve our overall goal of reading proficiency. 

 

Learn more!

Early Childhood Education

How does early childhood learning connect to third grade reading?

Nearly 7,000 babies are born in the Lehigh Valley every year, and almost half live in low-income families. Our most vulnerable children have the most limited exposure to high-quality childcare and will likely begin kindergarten 12-14 months behind their peers. Seven out of ten children in the Lehigh Valley are not ready for kindergarten, socially, emotionally or cognitively. Children who enter kindergarten not ready need additional supports to improve their language and literacy development to get them on track for reading well by the end of third grade.


Learn More

Summer Learning

What happens to a child’s reading skills over the summer months?

When school lets out for the summer, new challenges emerge for many children living in poverty. In addition to limitations on free or reduced breakfast and lunch, many children do not have access to learning opportunities that help them continue to build their reading skills. Children who do not participate in learning programs or enrichment opportunities such as field trips, camps, etc. over the summer can lose between two to three months of reading skills. This is called the "summer slide". 


Learn More

Challenge 5 Attendance

What happens to a child’s reading skills if they miss just 2 days of school each month?

About 1 in 5 children across the Lehigh Valley miss more than 18 days of school each year. That’s roughly 2 days per month, 10 percent of the school year, and about a month of lost learning opportunity. Students who miss this many days are considered chronically absent, fall behind in their course work, and have a difficult time keeping connected with their classmates.  Challenge 5 encourages students to attend school every day, and to strive for less than five days absent each year.


Learn More

Trauma Informed Schools

How does trauma at home affect a child in the classroom?

One in 4 children will witness or experience a traumatic event before the age of 4. Children who experience trauma can have significant delays in their language and emotional brain development, which can make it more challenging to pay attention in class and process new information. 


Learn More

Community Schools

How can schools serve as community resource centers?

Due to many variables, there are schools across the Lehigh Valley that lack the available resources to adequately serve their children and families.


Learn More