كيف يرتبط تعلم الطفولة المبكرة بقراءة الصف الثالث؟

يولد حوالي 7000 طفل في وادي ليهاي كل عام ، ويعيش نصفهم تقريبًا في أسر منخفضة الدخل. يعاني أضعف أطفالنا من التعرض المحدود لرعاية الأطفال عالية الجودة ، ومن المرجح أن يبدأوا في مرحلة الحضانة من 12 إلى 14 شهرًا خلف أقرانهم. سبعة من كل عشرة أطفال في وادي ليهاي ليسوا مستعدين لرياض الأطفال ، اجتماعيا أو عاطفيا أو إدراكيا. يحتاج الأطفال الذين يدخلون رياض الأطفال غير المستعدين إلى دعم إضافي لتحسين لغتهم وتنمية مهارات القراءة والكتابة لجعلهم على المسار الصحيح للقراءة بشكل جيد بحلول نهاية الصف الثالث.

يولد حوالي 7000 طفل في وادي ليهاي كل عام ، ويعيش نصفهم تقريبًا في أسر منخفضة الدخل. يعاني أضعف أطفالنا من التعرض المحدود لرعاية الأطفال عالية الجودة ، ومن المرجح أن يبدأوا في مرحلة الحضانة من 12 إلى 14 شهرًا خلف أقرانهم. سبعة من كل عشرة أطفال في وادي ليهاي ليسوا مستعدين لرياض الأطفال ، اجتماعيا أو عاطفيا أو إدراكيا. يحتاج الأطفال الذين يدخلون رياض الأطفال غير المستعدين إلى دعم إضافي لتحسين لغتهم وتنمية مهارات القراءة والكتابة لجعلهم على المسار الصحيح للقراءة بشكل جيد بحلول نهاية الصف الثالث.


كيف نتعامل مع استعداد رياض الأطفال؟


من خلال عمل تحالف الطفولة المبكرة ، يقرأ وادي ليهاي:

  • ينفذ برنامج "التحدث بالتدريس": حملة "التحدث والقراءة والغناء". تشجع هذه الحملة الأسر وأفراد المجتمع وغيرهم على التحدث والقراءة والغناء للأطفال الصغار لبناء عقولهم وتطوير مهارات اللغة ومحو الأمية. جعل اللحظات الصغيرة اليومية كبيرة من خلال التحدث والقراءة والغناء أمر سهل وفعال
  • إشراك الشركاء في جميع أنحاء وادي ليهاي لإيصال رسالة مشتركة حول أهمية التحدث ، القراءة ، الغناء
  • بناء الوعي حول تسجيل رياض الأطفال في الوقت المحدد عبر وادي ليهاي.
  • يعمل مع المناطق التعليمية لاستكشاف إمكانية وجود أداة موحدة لتقييم رياض الأطفال

How does early childhood learning connect to third grade reading?

Nearly 7,000 babies are born in the Lehigh Valley every year, and almost half live in low-income families. Our most vulnerable children have the most limited exposure to high-quality childcare and will likely begin kindergarten 12-14 months behind their peers. Seven out of ten children in the Lehigh Valley are not ready for kindergarten, socially, emotionally or cognitively. Children who enter kindergarten not ready need additional supports to improve their language and literacy development to get them on track for reading well by the end of third grade.

Nearly 7,000 babies are born in the Lehigh Valley every year, and almost half live in low-income families. Our most vulnerable children have the most limited exposure to high-quality childcare and will likely begin kindergarten 12-14 months behind their peers. Seven out of ten children in the Lehigh Valley are not ready for kindergarten, socially, emotionally or cognitively. Children who enter kindergarten not ready need additional supports to improve their language and literacy development to get them on track for reading well by the end of third grade. 


How do we address kindergarten readiness? 


Through the work of our Early Childhood Coalition, Lehigh Valley Reads: 

  • Implements the Talking Is Teaching: Talk, Read, Sing campaign. This campaign encourages families, community members and others to talk, read and sing to young babies to build their brain and develop language and literacy skills. Making everyday small moments big by talking, reading and singing is easy and effective
  • Engages partners across the Lehigh Valley to deliver a common message around the importance of Talk, Read, Sing
  • Builds awareness around on-time kindergarten registration across the Lehigh Valley.
  • Works with school districts to explore the possibility of a standardized Kindergarten assessment tool